Prof. Rafal E. Dunin‑Borkowski: Pictures of People: 2007
Website Map
Ernst Ruska Centre
Research Centre Jülich
RWTH Aachen

Click here to go up to the Pictures of People index page.



Center for Electron Nanoscopy's Christmas Dinner
Copenhagen, 11 December 2007

Andy Burrows, Andy Horsewell, Anita Kildebaek Nielsen, Lionel Cervera Gontard, Nicole MacDonald, Jakob Wagner, Anne Marie Rasmussen, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski.



Return to top



Yanna Antypas' Ph.D. exam
Cambridge, 10 December 2007

Takeshi Kasama, Richard Beanland, Ana Hungria, Cate Ducati, Yanna Antypas, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Jon Barnard, Marco Beleggia, Owen Saxton, Tom White, Juan Carlos Hernandez, Jo Sharp.



Return to top



Inauguration of the Center for Electron Nanoscopy
Technical University of Denmark, 6-7 December 2007

The inauguration celebrated the completion of the Center for Electron Nanoscopy at DTU, and the installation of seven new electron microscopes, in less than a year.This photograph of most of the participants at the inauguration ceremony was taken on 6 Dec 2007.

The completed Center for Electron Nanoscopy at DTU.

The plaque on the Center for Electron Nanoscopy, unveiled on 7 Dec 2007 by Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller.

The seminar room in Bulding 311. This picture was taken at the start of the scientific seminars held on 6 Dec 2007.

Welcome and introduction on 6 Dec 2007.

Lunch tent.

Archie Howie reading a poem at the dinner held at Langelinie Pavillonen on 6 Dec 2007.
Click on the picture for the text of the poem.

Waiting for Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller to arrive.

Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller and DTU's Rector Lars Pallesen outside the CEN building.

Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller and DTU's Rector Lars Pallesen outside the CEN building.

Entering the CEN building.

Lars Pallesen.

Inside the CEN building.

Tour of the FEI Titan Environmental TEM.

Tour of the FEI Helios Dual-Beam FIB-SEM.

Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller signing CEN's visitors' book.

Image of the Emma Maersk container ship fabricated on the Dual-Beam FIB-SEM at a scale of 1 to 10 million. A framed copy was given to Maersk Mc-Kinney Moeller during his visit.

Leaving the CEN building to have lunch in the Rector's office.

Champagne after the offical inauguration.

Harald Rose's talk about aberration correction.

Andy Horsewell's talk about the CEN building.

Archie Howie's concluding talk.

Andrew Bleloch, Dogan Ozkaya.

Wim Lenssen.

Nicole MacDonald, Ramona Mateiu.

Joern Bindslev Hansen.

Martin Hytch, Charles Holroyd.

Jacob Bowen, Ole Hansen, Jane Hvolbaek Nielsen.



Return to top



Lisa Karlsson's Ph.D. exam
Lund, Sweden, 3 December 2007

Zuzanna Liliental-Weber, Jakob Wagner, Erik Johnson.

Erik Johnson, Jakob Wagner, Lisa Karlsson.

Sven Lidin, Jan-Olle Malm, Zuzanna Liliental-Weber, Knut Deppert, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Stig Stenstrom, Lisa Karlsson, Reine Wallenberg.



Return to top



Materials Research Society Fall Meeting
Boston, MA, 26-30 November 2007

Etienne Snoeck, Martin Hytch, Jo Verbeeck, Peter van Aken, Michael Lehmann, Wouter Van den Broek, Sandra van Aert.

Jo Verbeeck, Etienne Snoeck, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Debbie Stokes, Uli Dahmen.

Shery Chang, Martin Hytch, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski.

Paul Midgley, Frances Ross.

Eric Stach, Chris Boothroyd, Randi Holmestad.



Return to top



Workshop on Advanced Electron Microscopy in Materials Physics
Brookhaven, New York, 7-8 November 2007

Picture taken by conference organizers.

Michael Gribelyuk and Angus Kirkland.

Picture of workshop organizers and invited speakers taken by conference organizers.

Bernd Kabius and Max Haider.





Return to top



51st Symposium of the Japanese Society of Microscopy
Tokushima, Japan, 19-20 October 2007

Kenji Kaneko, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Kazuo Ishizuka, Shuichi Takahashi.

Alan Robins and Mats Eriksson (at Helsinki airport on the way to Tokushima).



Return to top



Ryan Chong's Ph.D. exam
Cambridge, 12 October 2007

Alex Porter, Takeshi Kasama, Jon Barnard, Thomas Walther, Richard Beanland, Ran Chong, Richard Harrison, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski.

Alison Twitchett-Harrison, Jon Barnard, Thomas Walther, Owen Saxton, Cate Ducati, Ryan Chong, Takeshi Kasama, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski.



Return to top



Frontiers of Electron Microscopy in Materials Science Meeting
Sonoma, California, 23-28 September 2007

Picture taken by conference organizers.



Return to top



18th Turkish Electron Microscopy Meeting
Eskisehir, Turkey, 26-29 August 2007

Picture taken by conference organizers.



Return to top



July 2007

Standing: Takeshi Kasama, Erika Palin, Ed Simpson, Nathan Church.
Seated: Josh Feinberg, Amy Chen.

Josh's chelsea bun birthday cake.

Sergio Moreno (visiting Cambridge from Bariloche, Argentina)



Return to top



June 2007

Standing: Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Takeshi Kasama.
Seated: Mihaly Posfai (visiting Cambridge from Veszprem), Ed Simpson, Ilona Kosa (visiting Cambridge from Veszprem).

Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Qing Chen (visiting Cambridge from Beijing), Cate Ducati, Colin Humphreys.

Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Takeshi Kasama, Andrew Putnis (visiting Cambridge from Muenster).



Return to top



3rd European Electron Holography Workshop
Dresden, 28-30 May 2007

Back row: David Smith, Dietrich Schulze, Karin Vogel, Marco Beleggia, Grigore Moldovan, Dorin Geiger, Sarah Haigh, NN, Harald Rose, NN, Cheuk-wai Tai,NN, Paul Simon, NN, Axel Rother, Margarita Weiss, Christopher Matzeck, Johan Verbeeck, Alison Harrison, NN, Kurt Scheerschmidt, David Cooper, Michael Lehmann, Andreas Lenk.
Front row: Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Giorgio Matteucci, Hanne Lichte, Giulio Pozzi, Wilder Carrillo-Cabrera, Yossi Lereah, Filippo Ubaldi.



Return to top



Lionel Cervera's Ph.D. exam
Cambridge, 12 April 2007

Tom White, Takeshi Kasama, Ron Broom, Cecilia Galindo Gonzalez, Lionel Cervera Gontard, Ana Hungria, Alison Twitchett-Harrison, Ed Simpson.



Return to top



5 April 2007

David Smith, Archie Howie, Owen Saxton.



Return to top



OIST Workshop "Future of Electron Microscopy"
Okinawa, Japan, 27-30 March 2007

Standing: Hideki Ichinose, N Matsushita, T Sato, Yoshifumi Taniguchi, Kimi Matsuyama, Yoshizo Takai, Yimei Zhu, Keiichi Namba, Molly McCartney, Rafal Dunin-Borkowski,Sunshine Chen, Tsukasa Hirayama, Werner Kuhlbrandt, Kazutomo Suenaga, Uli Dahmen, Ken Downing, Max Haider, Hirotaro Mori.
Seated: Hannes Lichte, Akira Tonomura, Sumio Iijima, Archie Howie, Harald Rose, Christian Colliex, Kunio Takayanagi.



Return to top